NDIA and Australian governments

The peak intergovernmental forum in Australia is the National Federation Reform Council (NFRC) . It was formed on 29 May 2020.

The Council’s structure includes regular Disability Reform Ministers’ Meetings to drive reform in disability policy and implementation.

This includes through the National Disability Strategy and the NDIS.

The former Council of Australian Governments (COAG) ceased on 29 May 2020. See the COAG website for information on its past work.

Reports of the former COAG Disability Reform Council (DRC) meetings are available on the Department of Social Services website .

Summary of key dates

The following are key dates in the former COAG’s role in establishing the NDIS:

  • 19 August 2011 - Productivity Commission releases final report on Disability Care and Support; COAG agrees on need for major reform of disability services in Australia by establishing an NDIS.
  • 25 July 2012 - COAG notes first stage of an NDIS would begin July 2013; Commonwealth reaches in-principle agreement with South Australia, Tasmania and Australian Capital Territory (ACT).
  • 7 December 2012 - COAG signs Intergovernmental Agreement for the NDIS Launch (PDF 229KB). New South Wales, Victoria, South Australia, Tasmania and the Australian Capital Territory sign bilateral agreements with the Commonwealth. These agreements confirm how the Scheme trials will be rolled out and paid for in each site, starting in 2013 and 2014.
  • 19 April 2013 - COAG agrees to a set of principles for determining the responsibilities of the NDIS and other service systems, such as the health system. In-principle agreement between Commonwealth and Northern Territory to a launch of the NDIS in the Barkly region from July 2014.

Bilateral agreements with Commonwealth for NDIS rollout:

  • 16 September 2015 - New South Wales and Victoria
  • 16 March 2016 - Queensland
  • 27 April 2016 - Western Australia agrees to extend NDIS trials to July 2017 and expand to more locations
  • 5 May 2016 - Northern Territory
  • 13 December 2017 - Western Australia signs agreement for rollout of the NDIS, delivered by the NDIA.

This agreement means the NDIS will be delivered by the NDIA across every state and territory.

This page current as of
1 September 2021