The requirements to access the NDIS are different to health services and supports. We need information and evidence to answer different questions, like;

  • What can a person do with and without assistance?
  • In what ways is a person involved in different areas of their life? 
  • Which environmental factors are barriers, and which ones help a person function? 

We need to ask these questions to make sure a person’s eligibility for the Scheme meets the NDIS Act. If we can’t answer these questions through the evidence a participant or their treating health professional provides, we could over or under-estimate a person’s function. This means they will not have the right NDIS plan in place for their support needs and goals.

When a new or existing participant is referred to an independent assessor, they will complete three or four of the assessment tools, depending on their age and disability.

The assessment tools use a combination of questionnaires and activities. 

Independent assessors, and the assessment tools do not replace the relationship a person has with their treating medical or allied health professional. The assessment tools provide a reliable and consistent assessment of how a person functions in their daily life. For example, the activities a person can do independently, as well as the activities where they might need assistance.

It’s important to remember that independent assessments are just one piece in a collection of supporting evidence that the NDIA considers when making its decisions.

How the tools work with the Independent Assessment framework

An important part of a person’s eligibility for the NDIS is determined is by their level of functional capacity. This means the level at which a person functions in different areas of life, like home, school, work and the community. 

We developed the Framework to make sure the assessment tools we chose were meaningful in assessing a person’s functional capacity. 

We based the Framework on the NDIS Act 2013 requirements and the internationally recognised World Health Organization International Classification of Functioning, Disability and Health (WHO ICF). 

You can read more about the Independent Assessment Framework here.

This page current as of
30 September 2020
Indicates required field
Was this page useful?*
Why not?