NDIS rolls out to new regions in Victoria, South Australia and Queensland

Posted on 26 September 2017

From 1 October people in new regions and age groups in three states across Australia will be eligible to access the NDIS.

These new rollout areas include:

  • Inner Gippsland, Wimmera South West and Ovens Murray in Victoria
  • Limestone Coast, Murray and Mallee and Northern Adelaide (Tea Tree Gully),  in South Australia for adults aged 18 to 64 years
  • Bundaberg in Queensland (Queensland Government disability clients living in Bundaberg began entering the NDIS from 1 September 2017)

The NDIS is being introduced in stages because it's a big change and it is important to get it right and make it sustainable. Existing service users and new participants will enter the Scheme progressively.

Resources to help people accessing the Scheme for the first time are available on the NDIS website. Visit your state or territory page for more information on the roll out of NDIS, and the NDIS Ready page for resources to help you prepare for the Scheme.